Webinar: Subnational climate-smart agriculture action planning: lessons from Kenya and Tanzania

Webinar: Subnational climate-smart agriculture action planning: lessons from Kenya and Tanzania

Webinar: Subnational climate-smart agriculture action planning: lessons from Kenya and Tanzania 5039 3363 aflp

Date: Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Time: 9:00am EDT / 13:00 GMT / 15:00 SAST / 16:00 EAT

Duration: 1.5 hours

Speakers

  • Dr. John Recha, Climate Change, Agriculture, and Food Security (CCAFS)/International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Kenya
  • Dr. Hassan Shelukindo, President’s Office Regional Administration and Local Governments, United Republic of Tanzania
  • Veronica Ndetu, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries, Republic of Kenya

Facilitator

Caitlin Corner-Dolloff, Foreign Agricultural Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Description

Countries across Africa have made progress towards the development of national climate-smart agriculture policies and programs, and evidence of the impact of CSA practices at the farm level has grown. But, limited support to subnational actors for addressing CSA across their jurisdictions has held back the uptake of CSA needed to address the challenges facing farmers. This webinar discussed new training curriculums on Landscape CSA Action Planning for subnational decision-makers. Government representatives from Tanzania and Kenya discussed lessons from pilot trainings that aimed to increase incorporation of CSA into subnational initiatives across nine districts in Tanzania and three Counties in Kenya.

Download all presentations here
Download Q&A report here

Watch this webinar